Inequality, Religion, and Society: John Rawls and After


Thursday, January 24, 2019 (All day) to Saturday, January 26, 2019 (All day)


Tsai Auditorium

John Rawls was the most influential political philosopher of the twentieth century: modern political philosophy would be unthinkable without him. This conference will bring together a range of distinguished participants, in the conviction that their diverse perspectives will enhance and illuminate one another in looking both at Rawls’ own thought and the problems of political theory that continue to face his successors. There is nowhere more appropriate than Harvard, where Rawls worked and taught for so long, to host such an important event.

This conference is co-sponsored by the The Sekyra Group (Prague), in collaboration with Harvard's Department of Philosophy, Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics, and Department of Government.  

Thursday, January 24
3:45 - 5:45 PM
 - Panel: Rawls and the Project of Modern Political Philosophy
Speakers: Leif Wenar (King's College, London), Kenzie Bok (Harvard), Katrina Forrester (Harvard)
Chair: Eric Nelson (Harvard)

6:00 - 7:15 PM -  Keynote Lecture: Tim Scanlon (Harvard)

7:30 PM - Reception

Friday, January 25
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
 - Panel: Morality, Reciprocity, Political Justice
Speakers: Stephen Darwall (Yale), Samuel Schefller (NYU), Danielle Allen (Harvard)
Chair: Erin Kelly (Tufts)

12:00 - 1:15 PM - Lunch

1:15 - 3:15 PM - Panel: Religion and Democratic Society
Speakers: Andrew March (Harvard), Paul Weithman (Notre Dame), Jeremy Waldron (NYU)
Chair: Michael Rosen (Harvard)

3:15 - 3:45 PM - Coffee Break

3:45 - 5:45 PM - Panel: Social Inequality & Economic Justice
Speakers: Joseph Fishkin (Texas), Gina Schouten (Harvard), Lucas Stanczyk (Harvard)
Chair: Eric Beerbohm (Harvard)

6:00 - 7:15 PM - Keynote Lecture: Christine Korsgaard (Harvard)

Saturday, January 26
10:30 AM - 12:30 PM
 - Panel: Humanity and the Future
Speakers: Clark Wolf (Iowa State), Anja Karnein (Stony Brook), Partha Dasgupta (Cambridge)
Chair: Johann Frick (Princeton)

12:30 - 1:45 PM - Lunch

1:45 - 3:45 PM - Conclusion: Round Table Discussion
Speakers: Rainer Forst (Frankfurt), Teresa Bejan (Oxford), Tommie Shelby (Harvard)
Chair: Dennis Thompson (Harvard)