Eric Beerbohm

Eric Beerbohm

Director, Edmond J. Safra Graduate Fellowships in Ethics
Professor of Government, Harvard University
Eric Beerbohm

Eric Beerbohm is Professor of Government at Harvard University and Director of Graduate Fellowships at the Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics. His philosophical and teaching interests include democratic theory, theories of distributive justice, and the philosophy of social science. His current book project, If Elected: The Ethics of Lawmaking and Campaigning, develops a theory for lawmakers and candidates operating within a malfunctioning legislative system. What kinds of commitments, promises, and pledges can candidates make? In the “victory lab" of electoral poltics, what are the ethics of the political stump? In a polarized legislature, what are the moral limits of legislative politics? His third project, Small Government, considers the division of labor between the public, voluntary, and private sectors. It raises agent-relative problems for distributive justice: How much must the state do itself? What can it privatize? And what can it offload to voluntary organizations? His first book, In Our Name: The Ethics of Democracy (Princeton University Press, 2012, 368 pp.), considers the responsibilities of citizens for the injustices of their state. A Marshall Scholar, Truman Scholar, and Mellon Fellow in the Humanities and Social Sciences, he received his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 2008, B.Phil. in Philosophy from Oxford University, and BA in Political Science and the Program in Ethics in Society from Stanford University. He is a recipient of the 2012 Roslyn Abramson Award, Harvard's highest award for teaching given annually to two faculty in Arts and Sciences for "excellence and sensitivity in undergraduate teaching." He is Founding Director of the Undergraduate Fellowship Program at the Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics. 

Contact Information

Center Leadership

Director, Edmond J. Safra Undergraduate Fellowship Program

Graduate Fellowship Program Director

Faculty Committee

Faculty Fellow