Frances M. Kamm

Frances M. Kamm

Lucius Littauer Professor of Philosophy and Public Policy, Emerita
Professor of Philosophy, Harvard Department of Philosophy

Frances Kamm is the Littauer Professor of Philosophy and Public Policy in the Kennedy School of Government, as well as Professor of Philosophy in the Faculty of Arts & Sciences.... Read more about Frances M. Kamm

Lisa Lehmann

Lisa Lehmann

Executive Director of the National Center for Ethics in Health Care
Associate Professor of Medicine and Associate Professor of Global Health and Social Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Dr. Lehmann is Associate Professor of Medicine and of Global Health and Social Medicine at Harvard Medical School and the Executive Director of the National Center for Ethics in Health Care.... Read more about Lisa Lehmann

Jane Mansbridge

Jane J. Mansbridge

Adams Professor of Political Leadership and Democratic Values, Harvard Kennedy School

Professor Mansbridge is author of Beyond Adversary Democracy and Why We Lost the ERA (co-recipient of the American Political Science Association's Kammerer Award in 1987 and its Schuck Award in 1988); editor of Beyond Self-Interest; co-editor, with Susan Moller Okin, of Feminism; and co-editor, with Aldon Morris, of Oppositional Consciousness: The Subjective Roots of Social Protest. Her work combines normative democratic theory with the empirical study of how democracies work, and includes the analysis of deliberation, representation, social movements, political participation, non-self-interested motivation, the meaning of the public good, and feminist perspectives on democratic theory.... Read more about Jane J. Mansbridge

Frank Michelman

Frank I. Michelman

Robert Walmsley University Professor, Emeritus, Harvard Law School

Professor Michelman's areas of expertise include Constitutional Law, Legal Theory, and Property Law. Among his publications are "Unenumerated Rights Under Popular Constitutionalism," "The Constitution, Social Rights, and Liberal Political Justification," and Brennan and Democracy (Princeton University Press 1999).... Read more about Frank I. Michelman

Lynn M. Peterson

Member, Bioethics Committee, Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center and Committee for the Protection of Human Subjects, Dartmouth College.
Dr. Peterson was Director of the Division of Medical Ethics at Harvard Medical School from 1989-1997 and Director of the Ethics Service at the Brigham and Women's Hospital from 1997-2004.... Read more about Lynn M. Peterson
Thomas R. Piper

Thomas R. Piper

Baker Foundation Professor; Lawrence E. Fouraker Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School

Professor Piper, Baker Foundation Professor and Lawrence E. Fouraker Professor of Business Administration, Emeritus, is a faculty member in the Finance and Accounting Units at the Graduate School of Business Administration.... Read more about Thomas R. Piper

Man in a blue suit and glasses in front of a blue background

Mathias Risse

Co-director, Graduate Fellowship Program
Lucius N. Littauer Professor of Philosophy and Public Administration, Harvard Kennedy School

Mathias Risse is Lucius N. Littauer Professor of Philosophy and Public Administration and Director of the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy at Harvard University. His work primarily addresses questions of global justice... Read more about Mathias Risse

Marc J. Roberts

Professor of Political Economy and Health Policy, Harvard School of Public Health

After joining the Harvard faculty in 1969, Professor Roberts taught economics, statistics, ethics, management, environmental policy and health policy in the Economics Department, the Kennedy School, the Law School and, for 30 years, at the School of Public Health. He played a leading role in the World Bank's training efforts on health sector reform around the world, having taught courses and seminars for senior government leaders in nearly thirty countries, and on every continent except Antarctica.... Read more about Marc J. Roberts

James Sabin

James Sabin

Clinical Professor in the Departments of Population Medicine and Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School
Director of the Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Ethics Progra
Professor of Population Medicine, Part-time

James Sabin is Clinical Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and the Department of Ambulatory Care and Prevention at Harvard Medical School, Director of the Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Ethics Program, and co-founder of the Center for Ethics and Population Health, a program for research, teaching and policy development at Harvard Medical School, and Director of Teaching for the Harvard Medical School Department of Ambulatory Care and Prevention.... Read more about James Sabin

Elaine Scarry

Elaine Scarry

Walter M. Cabot Professor of Aesthetics and the General Theory of Value, Harvard University

Professor Scarry's interests include 19th Century British Novel, 20th Century drama, Language of Physical Pain, and Structure of Verbal and Material Making in Art, Science, and the Law. Her publications include The Body in Pain; Dreaming by the Book; On Beauty; and Being Just, and articles on war and social contract.... Read more about Elaine Scarry

Frederick Schauer

David and Mary Harrison Distinguished Professor of Law, University of Virginia
At the Harvard Kennedy School, Fred Schauer was the Frank Stanton Professor of the First Amendment. He has taught the required ethics course for MPP students and courses on freedom of speech and the press at the Kennedy School and the Law School.... Read more about Frederick Schauer
Amartya Sen

Amartya Sen

Thomas W. Lamont University Professor, and Professor of Economics and Philosophy, Harvard University

Professor Sen's research has ranged over a number of fields in economics, philosophy, and decision theory, including social choice theory, welfare economics, theory of measurement, development economics, public health, gender studies, moral and political philosophy, and the economics of peace and war. His books have been translated into more than thirty languages, and include Collective Choice and Social Welfare (1970), On Economic Inequality (1973, 1997), Poverty and Famines (1981), Choice, Welfare and Measurement (1982), Resources, Values and Development (1984), On Ethics and Economics (1987), The Standard of Living (1987), Inequality Reexamined (1992), Development as Freedom (1999), and Rationality and Freedom (2002), The Argumentative Indian (2005), and Identity and Violence: The Illusion of Destiny (2006).... Read more about Amartya Sen