Tommie Shelby Elected Co-Chair of Pulitzer Prize Board

June 7, 2022

Faculty committee member Tommie Shelby along with Neil Brown have been elected as co-chairs of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

Brown is the President of The Poynter Institute, and Shelby is the Caldwell Titcomb Professor of African and African American Studies and Professor of Philosophy at Harvard University.

The Pulitzer Prizes, which are administered at Columbia University, has a 19-member board and is composed mainly of leading journalists or news executives from media outlets across the U.S., as well as five academics or persons in the arts. The dean of Columbia's journalism school and the administrator of the prizes are nonvoting members. The chair rotates to the most senior member or members. The board is self-perpetuating in the election of members. Voting members may serve three terms of three years for a total of nine years.