Berggruen Fellowship

In 2016, the Center inaugurated a partnership with the Berggruen Institute's Philosophy and Culture Center, whose goal is "to develop fresh ideas through comparative and interdisciplinary work and to relate these insights to the pressing issues of our day." Berggruen Fellows engage in scholarship of broad social and political importance from cross-cultural perspectives, and demonstrate a commitment to the public dissemination of their ideas. Priority for holding a Berggruen Fellowship at the Edmond J. Safra Center will be given to scholars working in the following thematic areas: equality and hierarchy; democracy and meritocracy; neuroscience, culture, morality; sustainable innovation; diversity, justice, and democracy.

The 2016-17 Berggruen Fellows are Tongdong Bai, Sungmoon Kim, and Samuel Moyn.